Combining to images

Visuals, audio, animation. Blended, not stirred. If LiveCode is part of your rich media production toolbox, this is the forum for you.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

hairydalek

Combining to images

Post by hairydalek » Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:20 pm

I'm new to LiveCode, but what I'd like to to is turn what I have done for a web page into an application.

Here's what happens:

1 - user uploads an image (a photo, max 3mb in size for the moment)

2 - user then choses an option, and a sticker is added to the image

3 - the server then creates an image with the same resolution as the original, but with the sticker applied in a random place.

So, what I have been trying to look for is for a way two get LiveCode to put image B in a random place on image A. So far, nothing has cropped up that suggests that this can be done in LiveCode, without waking through the image pixel by pixel, copying the pixels into a new image. Somewhere along the way, you have to determine if the pixel to be replaced is from the the original image, or from the sticker image. This strikes me as being very clunky, slow, and complex to write, is there a way of saying something like:

Code: Select all

Position image B on image A at postionX , positionY, angle Xdeg
None of the examples on LiveCode's site even get close to what I would have thought is a simple option. Am I missing something basic?

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Combining to images

Post by jacque » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:59 am

LiveCode can do it fairly easialy and you won't need to get down to the pixel level. LiveCode provides properties that tell you the dimensions of every object, so in pseudocode:

get the width of the image
get a random number within that range
add the left of the image to the random number. That's the first item of the sticker's location, call it randomH