Hiding Console Windows

Interested adding compiled externals from LiveCode and third parties to your LiveCode projects? This is the place to talk about them.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
pspringer57
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:51 pm

Hiding Console Windows

Post by pspringer57 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:58 pm

Hello,

I am running on Wondows XP and trying to start an application on windows without having the console window appear. The hideConsoleWindows command does not seem to have an effect. Any thoughts? Here is my code:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   put "start java -jar 'C:/Documents and Settings/pspringer/ganymedeWorkspace/IPtest/bin/QueryController.jar'" into myShell 
   replace "'" with quote in myShell 
   put myShell
   set the hideConsoleWindows to true
   get shell(myShell) 
   put it
end mouseUp
-Paul

Klaus
Posts: 13864
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Klaus » Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:31 pm

Hi Paul,

I have no idea what's going on, but try to add a line and see if that helps:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp 
   put "start java -jar 'C:/Documents and Settings/pspringer/ganymedeWorkspace/IPtest/bin/QueryController.jar'" into myShell 
   replace "'" with quote in myShell 
  ### !!! Windows path delimiter!
   replace "/" with "\" in myShell
   ### !!!
   put myShell 
   set the hideConsoleWindows to true 
   get shell(myShell) 
   put it 
end mouseUp
Best from germany

Klaus

pspringer57
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:51 pm

Post by pspringer57 » Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:54 pm

Thanks for the suggestion Klaus. I tried it, but my command tool window is still popping up. I am starting to think I have to approach this from the java side. The command tool window has a little java icon on the left hand side of the window bar, where you would normally see an icon of a command tool with a "C:\" in it. So java seems to have it's fingers in the process even at that level.

-Paul

Janschenkel
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 977
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:47 am
Location: Aalst, Belgium
Contact:

Post by Janschenkel » Wed Nov 12, 2008 7:05 pm

Try removing the 'start' bit from your command line.

Jan Schenkel.
Quartam Reports & PDF Library for LiveCode
www.quartam.com

pspringer57
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:51 pm

Post by pspringer57 » Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:37 pm

I have managed to get the result I want by adding "/min" to the windows command, starting the window minimized. I believe that removing "start" will cause the Rev app to lose control until the windows application terminates, which is not what I want.

Post Reply

Return to “Using Externals”