Ugly font and invisible mouse pointer (LiveCode 6)

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

czayas

Ugly font and invisible mouse pointer (LiveCode 6)

Post by czayas » Wed Apr 17, 2013 3:55 pm

Hi, I'm new with LiveCode, this is my first post in the forums.

I want to try LiveCode in Linux, my preferred distro is Linux Mint KDE, and I notice that the font used in the LiveCode GUI is not the same as the standard system font, and I find it ugly, it seems like a fixed width font.

But most annoying is the fact that the mouse pointer dissappears inside the LiveCode GUI, that is, only inside the LiveCode windows. The mouse pointer works on them, only it is invisible.

I tried LiveCode 6 in two different computers with the same distro, Linux Mint 14 KDE Edition, with the same results. I tried it also in a netbook with Fuduntu, a Fedora/GNOME2 based distro, and it works flawlessly.

Are there packages that I need to install? I tried installing the GNOME desktop, but I want to be able to use LiveCode in KDE.

I will appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.
Attachments
snapshot3.png
Screenshot of LiveCode 6 running on Linux Mint 14 KDE Edition

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Ugly font and invisible mouse pointer (LiveCode 6)

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Apr 17, 2013 5:50 pm

Please post the output of lspci and we'll see what we can come up with.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

mwieder

Post by mwieder » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:41 pm

I run LC 6 on linux mint 14 without problems. The first time I launched after registering things were a bit weird, but after the second launch everything's been fine.
I've been using Source Code Pro as my default font for some time, so I'm not sure what the default font looks like.