Keyboard issue.

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
dburdan
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:39 am
Location: California, USA

Keyboard issue.

Post by dburdan » Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:37 am

When I call the keyboard to be opened, it is automatically in caps lock mode. Is there any way to turn this off?

mcgrath3
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Bethel Park, Pittsbrugh, Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by mcgrath3 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:54 pm

I use
iphoneSetKeyboardType "alphabet"

it is not initial cap or caps lock when opened fro a field.

NOTE: you have to call this before opening the keyboard in a field. It will not effect the currently displayed keyboard. Just the next one.

Tom
Tom McGrath III
Lazy River Software
3mcgrath@comcast.net

dburdan
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:39 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by dburdan » Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:39 pm

I tried putting that before the field was called but it still opens in CAPS lock mode.

mcgrath3
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: Bethel Park, Pittsbrugh, Pennsylvania USA
Contact:

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by mcgrath3 » Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:52 pm

Is this in the simulator or on a device?
Tom McGrath III
Lazy River Software
3mcgrath@comcast.net

dburdan
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:39 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by dburdan » Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:53 pm

Both. I have a screen with one text box. When the user clicks it, it opens the keyboard as usual. But the keyboard being opened, starts in all caps. I tried switching the keyboard type but that didn't work.

observ3
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:05 pm

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by observ3 » Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:02 am

Keyboard support is dismally weak right now... Has anyone found a way to handle auto-capitalization after punctuation?
Check out my LiveCode program, WriteSpire, on the App Store!

teacherguy
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:43 am

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by teacherguy » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:44 pm

dburdan wrote:Both. I have a screen with one text box. When the user clicks it, it opens the keyboard as usual. But the keyboard being opened, starts in all caps. I tried switching the keyboard type but that didn't work.
Yes, and notice too that the shift key is not solid blue (which it would be for caps lock) but rather is outlined blue, which should then change after typing the first character. But it does stay locked. I notice that coming back into the field later...the keyboard behaves normally.

teacherguy
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:43 am

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by teacherguy » Sun Jan 22, 2012 8:58 pm

OK here is my workaround for getting rid of the shift key being locked on the first appearance of the keyboard. I created a custom property for the field called clearShift, then I put this handler in the card script:

Code: Select all

on keyboardActivated
   if the clearShift of field "My Field" is false then
      focus on nothing
      set the clearShift of field "My Field" to true
      focus on field "My Field"
      exit keyboardActivated
   else
      pass keyboardActivated
   end if
end keyboardActivated

shankez
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:25 pm

Re: Keyboard issue.

Post by shankez » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:11 pm

teacherguy wrote:OK here is my workaround for getting rid of the shift key being locked on the first appearance of the keyboard. I created a custom property for the field called clearShift, then I put this handler in the card script:

Code: Select all

on keyboardActivated
   if the clearShift of field "My Field" is false then
      focus on nothing
      set the clearShift of field "My Field" to true
      focus on field "My Field"
      exit keyboardActivated
   else
      pass keyboardActivated
   end if
end keyboardActivated
Thank you very much for your code! :)

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”