Stack Window Disappears

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
scruffycoder
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 1:25 pm

Stack Window Disappears

Post by scruffycoder » Wed Sep 27, 2023 12:32 pm

Hi,

I have a problem which is preventing me from using livecode. I've tried both version 9 6 100 and 10 0 0(dp6). I'm on a Mac v13 of macOS, fully patched. The problem is, when I click on anything in the tool bar, the main stack window disappears behind any other open apps. The only way I can use it is without any other apps open which isn't really practical. Has anyone else seen this behaviour?

Thanks in advance

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9446
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by richmond62 » Wed Sep 27, 2023 3:02 pm

1. What do you mean by "9 6 100"?

2. What do you mean by "fully patched"?

3. I suspect this is something 'local', i.e. peculiar to your setup, as it is NOT happening with me.
-
Screen Shot 2023-09-27 at 17.00.18.jpg
-
NOT happening round these parts. 8)

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9738
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by dunbarx » Wed Sep 27, 2023 3:03 pm

Hi.

Do you have "Backdrop" selected in the "view" menu?

Turn it off.

Craig

stam
Posts: 2741
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by stam » Wed Sep 27, 2023 5:33 pm

I suspect this is similar to the bug I reported here : https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=24200

It’s annoying because other apps intersperse their windows with the IDE windows and I keep having to “hide others” (cmd-opt-H).

Not sure there is a fix yet, but the bug was confirmed at least…

I had to stop using the backdrop for this reason (and please, no comments on how no one uses the backdrop - I quite liked it… and it used to work fine up to MacOS Ventura but has severely malfunctioned since…)

S.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9738
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by dunbarx » Wed Sep 27, 2023 7:31 pm

Stam..

I will not comment on the non-use of backdrops.

Craig

stam
Posts: 2741
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by stam » Wed Sep 27, 2023 7:39 pm

For which I’m already eternally grateful…

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9446
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by richmond62 » Wed Sep 27, 2023 8:37 pm

My 'Devawriter Pro' has a virtual backdrop substack which contains this code:

Code: Select all

on preOpenStack
   put ((item 3 of the screenRect) + 20) into WIDD
   put ((item 4 of the screenRect) + 20) into HITE
   set the width of stack "DESKER" to WIDD
   set the height of stack "DESKER" to HITE
   set the loc of stack "DESKER" to the screenLoc
end preOpenStack

on openStack
   set the backgroundColor of stack "Answer Dialog" to white
end openStack

on mouseDown
   toplevel stack "DWPro"
end mouseDown

on mouseUp
   toplevel stack "DWPro"
end mouseUp
It should be perfectly simple to modify this as a plugin for the IDE. 8)

HOWEVER, my latest 'problem' is, while I know how to push a stack to the front [toplevel] what I don't know how to do is push a stack so that it is behind ALL the other stacks and palettes that are open at the moment.

I worked this one up in 2017 because the LC backdrop was mucking me around at the time.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9738
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by dunbarx » Wed Sep 27, 2023 9:25 pm

Richmond.

So the first thing I did was get a list of the "properties" of two brand new stacks in a new session. I found no "layer" property, or anything like it. Of course, the "properties" property is famous for being incomplete. Anyway, there may not be an analog to the "layer" property for stacks. If one asks, the layer of both stacks was 0.

Of course, a kludge would be to get a list of the stacks, and topLevel all but the one you want to be in back.

Somehow I am sure there is a more direct way...

Craig
Last edited by dunbarx on Wed Sep 27, 2023 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9738
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by dunbarx » Wed Sep 27, 2023 9:27 pm

The kludge above suffers from the very issue at hand. Unless you knew the "layer" of each stack, you will certainly bury the one of interest all the way down, but you very well may ruin whatever "layer" order you had to begin with.

If that matters...

Craig

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9446
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by richmond62 » Wed Sep 27, 2023 9:33 pm

The logical corollary of topLevel, is surely, bottomLevel; and very useful it would be . . . 8)
-
Screen Shot 2023-09-27 at 23.43.18.png
-
Curses!

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9446
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by richmond62 » Wed Sep 27, 2023 9:55 pm

HOWEVER: palettised stacks remain in front of my kludgey backdrop:
-
Screen Shot 2023-09-27 at 23.53.11.jpg
-
So, one could have a script to list ALL the open stacks inwith the faux backdrop stackScript; all those stacks could be momentarily palettised so they remain in front of the faux backdrop, and then depalettised.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9738
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by dunbarx » Wed Sep 27, 2023 11:03 pm

"BottomLevel" is far too limited if we are going to exhort Scotland to really get going on this. Think big: stacks need a "layer" property, unless they already have one somewhere.

I still think they must, somewhere.

Craig

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9738
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: Stack Window Disappears

Post by dunbarx » Wed Sep 27, 2023 11:05 pm

Hey, anyone remember the OP, ScruffyCoder, and the original issue?

Is everything OK with you about those pesky windows?

Craig

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”