Question about local variables

Moderators: LCNeil, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, elanorb

seanmiller

Question about local variables

Post by seanmiller » Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:27 pm

Hi,

First off I want to say I've been extremely impressed with LiveCode and with the support the company has provided. Although I've been in IT for many years, I'm excited to get my hands dirty with software development with the help of LiveCode.

I'm working on an app that essentially is a quiz with multiple choice answers. As a beginner, I've been making steady progress, but I've reached an impasse. Thus far, my app has 2 cards, one with a user interface and the other for storing the quiz data--in a field. In a nutshell, there's a line in the data field with a value for the correct answer to a given quiz question. When the user hits a button to confirm her answer, a handler compares the answer selected to the correct answer. Based on the result, it puts a text response into another field on the user interface card. But I can't get the local variable to work.

Would you mind taking a look at my stack to see what I'm missing? I've emailed the stack to support.

Sean

LCNeil
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member

Re: Question about local variables

Post by LCNeil » Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:21 pm

Hi Sean,

Thank you for sending in your stack.

You were almost there with your variables, but there are a few things that you need to be wary of when using variable across cards. It will probably be beneficial to explain how the various variable types working in LiveCode.

There are various variable types in LiveCode-

-Temporary Variable (tVar)
-Local Variable (sVar)
-Global Variables (gVar)

Temporary variable are variable that are used within the context of a handler and can only be accessed when the handler they are present in is being executed-

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
put "test" into tTest
answer tTest
end mouseUp
After the handler has finished executing, the variable is discarded